PURC Annual Conference
for Utility Service Providers, Policy Makers, and Regulators

43rd Annual PURC Conference

A Messy Process for a Clean Power Plan

March 16 – 17, 2016
Gainesville, Florida

Clean power seems to be everyone’s aspiration, but the process for defining it and achieving it has become quite messy. The EPA’s Clean Power initiative is dominating most energy discussions these days, but the means by which to clarify the rules and comply with them is pulling together a lot of threads, such as state jurisdiction, renewable energy initiatives, the changing roles of natural gas, energy storage, water resource policy, and the like. And let’s not forget the overarching goals of reliability and keeping energy affordable. New stakeholders are emerging as technologies and the economics for production change, giving rise to increasingly complex regulatory and political issues. How can those responsible for keeping the system working make decisions for the long term? What are their options and what are the likely outcomes?

Please join us for PURC's 43rd Annual Conference where we will examine options and decision making for environmental policies, energy supply, industry roles and responsibilities, and water regulation. Speakers and participants will engage in discussions that address the following questions:

  • How will Florida respond to the Clean Power Plan initiative?
  • What are other states doing?
  • What is happening in the retail markets for natural gas?
  • How will the Clean Power Plan and renewable energy options affect consumers?
  • What are the disrupters in utilities? What threats or opportunities do they present?
  • What can be improved in water regulation? How will water policy affect energy?

For more than 40 years, our annual conference has served as a neutral forum for engaging dialogue about issues facing utility service providers, policymakers and regulatory agencies. The February event in Gainesville brings together key leaders in industry and academia, primarily from Florida and the Southeast.

PURC is registered with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation as a provider of continuing professional education programs. Each year, we apply to the DBPR for technical business CPE credit for conference sessions, as well as to the Florida Bar for general CLER credit for Florida law practitioners.

Hotel Information

Hotel Reservations at Hilton UF Conference Center Gainesville:

The Group Rate is $145.00 plus tax per night
Group Rate Code: PUR316
Reservation deadline for Group Rate is February 16, 2016

Past Annual Conferences

PURC Distinguished Service Award

Each year at the PURC Annual Conference, PURC honors an individual who has contributed to the understanding of regulatory economics and finance. The PURC Distinguished Service Award recognizes the cumulative impact of an individual's research and policy analyses on both the academic community and regulatory policymakers.

Gerald L. Gunter Distinguished Service Award

The Gerald L. Gunter Distinguished Service Award is presented jointly at our Annual Conference by PURC and the Florida Public Service Commission. It recognizes a Public Service Commission employee who has made a significant contribution to the development of regulatory policy.

The award is named after the late FPSC Commissioner Gerald L. Gunter, who was especially supportive of the relationship between the University and the Florida PSC. After his death in June 1991, the Gerald L. Gunter Memorial was established by his friends and colleagues. In addition to the Gunter Award, financial gifts enabled the establishment of the Gunter Professorship in the Warrington College of Business. Richard Romano serves as the Gerald L. Gunter Professor of research in regulatory policy.


  • Email Us (rebecca.beachy at warrington.ufl.edu)

Executive and Leadership Academy

Not finding what you’re looking for?

Past Recipients

  • 2015
    Mary Anne Helton
  • 2014
    Greg Shafer
  • 2013
    Andrew Maurey
  • 2012
    Tom Ballinger
  • 2011
    Robert J. Casey
  • 2010
    Kathy Welch
  • 2009
    Mark Futrell
  • 2008
    David Smith
  • 2007
    Connie S. Kummer
  • 2006
    Cheryl Bulecza-Banks
  • 2005
    Marshall Willis
  • 2004
    Tim Devlin
  • 2003
    James A. Ward
  • 2002
    Lisa Harvey
  • 2001
    David Dowds
  • 2000
    Sally Simmons
  • 1999
    J. Alan Taylor
  • 1998
    Dale Mailhot
  • 1997
    Bob Trapp
  • 1996
    Cindy Miller
  • 1995
    John Williams
  • 1994
    Beth Salak
  • 1993
    Joe McCormick
  • 1992
    Jill Butler


College Info

Warrington College of Business
BRY 100
PO Box 117150
Gainesville, FL 32611-7150
Phone: 352.392.2397
Fax: 352.392.2086

for Alumni & Friends


for Faculty & Staff

for Students

Join the Conversation
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • EverTrue
Share Tweet Email Link +